Irresistible Refrain Blog Tour Review

October 8, 2013 / 0 comments

Irresistible Refrain Blog Tour ReviewIrresistible Refrain by Michelle Mankin
Series: Tempest #1
Published by Self-Published on October 3, 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eARC
Purchase @ AMAZON  or  BN
Add to Goodreads

Two years ago everything changed for the remaining members of the Seattle rock band Tempest.

Two years is a long time.

Too long to keep on remembering.

Not nearly long enough to forget.

In trouble with nowhere else to go songstress Lace Lowell seeks refuge with the band during their stop in New York City. It's a risky move for her because they are both there, two impossibly good looking men whose lives are inseparably entwined with hers. One who bruised her heart and one who smashed it into pieces.

Warren “War” Jinkins, the mercurial lead singer of Tempest, has always had a thing for Lace. But then again so does his best friend and band mate.

Bryan “Bullet” Jackson, the sinfully handsome tat-sleeved lead guitarist, has a bad boy reputation befitting his nickname. For the past two years Bullet’s had a rule with the groupies: one time, never twice, leave ‘em satisfied, but always leave ‘em.

Two guys, one woman, and a host of dark secrets all together within the tight confines of a tour bus as the group travels cross country.

Can the past be forgotten and buried?

Will friendships prevail?

Or will the three of them succumb to seductive impulses too addictive to resist?

Liezel’s Thoughts:

Growing up together in the harsher parts of  Seattle,  Bryan always had Warren’s back and vice versa. As much as they could they tried to keep their heads down and stay out of trouble but one wrong decision almost lands both of the boys in juvi. With nothing to lose, War decides rather than bringing them both down he took the fall for their actions. Ever since that day Bryan knew he was indebted to War. He accepted this freely and never hesitated to give in to his bestfriend in all things up until they both got reacquainted with a grown-up Lace.

Brother and sister – Dizzy and Lace grew up in the same apartment that Bryan lived in. As a very young boy her innocence then made Bryan smile. When they met again as teenagers  he felt even more captivated by her. As much as he was attracted to Lace,  War was  too but because of  that obligation and loyalty that  he had for his best friend he let his feelings take a backseat.

Over the years they both struggled with their feelings for each other. Constantly seeing Lace with War was miserable for Bryan. Lace thought Bryan didn’t give a damn and it was another reason why she used just to escape  her own heartbreak. It takes one fateful accident for both of them to come to the realization that whatever they have is worth fighting for.


I appreciated this story of loyalty, friendship and second chances. I however felt overwhelmed with the back and forth between the past and present tense delivery especially in the beginning. I know that their history played a very important in telling this story but the flipping back and forth for me made the story choppy in the start. Once I got over that issue the story evolved into a thing of beauty.

I love Bryan in this story. I thought his loyalty to all of his friends was remarkable. He was living his dream as a rockstar yet he never fell into that “lifestyle” like War did. I thought it was endearing how he kept a close relationship with his mother and never hesitated to ask for her advice and always valued her opinion.

Lace on the other hand fell into a hard way of life which I thought made her weak. I felt that she too dependant – she had to always have a man in her life to make her feel special.  Once she got her life together though she wasn’t what I thought she was afterall. She had the courage and strength and also the integrity to overcome all of her issues not because of that “someone” that was waiting for her on the other side but she was changing for herself.

From the very beginning I thought that the couple had a very strong connection and that they were always meant to be together. It took them a very long  time getting there but for me it was necessary for both to mature and find themselves before taking that last leap.

Despite the setbacks  i had in the beginning I enjoyed this rock star romance. Bryan and Lace’s story definitely was a great start to this series and I am looking forward to see what the author has in store for us next.

The Verdict:



I seriously contemplated telling her right then and there that she was the only woman who had ever been important to me when I heard the door slide open behind us.

“Guys it’s four fucking a.m.” Voice gruff with disapproval, War’s appearance brought our intimate predawn reunion to an end. Looking wan and strung out, the lead singer of Tempest shuffled into view wearing a pair of red boxers and scratched his bare chest. “Come on back to bed, babe.” He held out his hand to her while shooting me an irritated glance.

She patted my knee and I took the cue to scoot out of the booth ahead of her so she could exit.

War threw a proprietary arm around her shoulders as soon as her bare feet hit the floor. “Night, Loser.”

“Night, Asshole.”

War gave me the finger before he closed the door.

I stared at it for a long time. Nothing had fucking changed. Twenty thousand people screaming my name during my guitar solo at the Garden, plus two twins, but none of that mattered to me. Not when my best friend had the woman I’d always wanted.

MMbanner 2

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted By:






About Michelle Mankin

Michelle Mankin is a young/new adult romance writer as well as a self-proclaimed giant…inside her own mind.
For many years, she toiled in the insurance industry as an underwriter. Somehow, the boredom didn’t kill her, and the hours of looking at facts and figures provided ample time for her mind to wander.
Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and the latest novel, Love Resolution are rock ‘n roll romances. The first is based on Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, the second on Much Ado About Nothing, and the third on The Tempest. The first three books in the Black Cat Records series combine the plot underpinnings of the famous playwright with the drama, excitement, and the indisputable sexiness of the rock ‘n roll industry.
When she is not putting her daydreams down on paper, you can find Michelle traveling the world with her family. Sometimes for real and sometimes just for pretend as she takes the children to school and back.

Leave a Reply